Tokyo Revengers Anime Reviews | Anime-Planet (2023)

Tokyo Revengers Anime Reviews | Anime-Planet (1)Go to anime

sort

Tokyo Revengers Anime Reviews | Anime-Planet (2)

ThatAnimeSnobSep 5, 2021

Tokyo Revengers is an average to bad anime that blew up in popularity by people with bad taste. And I’m going to tell you the reasons why.

1) Terrible protagonist
The biggest issue most people have with it is the terrible protagonist. He’s 26 years old and he still acts like a 10 year old crybaby. Call it arrested development all you like that is excused by the harsh life he had, or that such people exist in real life therefore it’s realistic (Chibi), and it’s still not going to make him a protagonist most people can get behind.

2) No development
Although there are lots of shows that start off with a lame loser protagonist for the sake of having a lot of room for character development, this show is not doing that. He never changes and every time he acts brave doesn’t last long before he goes back to being a crybaby. Therefore it’s a major turnoff when you see him acting the exact same way all the time without every changing to something better.

3) No brains
Also, he’s not smart. You could excuse his lack of guts or power and you could still like him for using his brains or life experiences for solving whatever issues he has. It would make the show to feel smart as well. Well, he doesn’t even do that. To the most part he’s incapable to do the slightest thing and never uses his knowledge of past events in present time, which is the whole point of being given the ability to time travel. If you are given a second chance to do things right, why aren’t you using what you know to your benefit? For example he doesn’t invest in Bitcoin so he can be a billionaire in the present. That way he is not going to be a collar worker loser anymore and he will have enough resources for hiring people to investigate the murder case of the past. But nope, all he does is acting like an idiot who doesn’t know a thing and doesn’t do anything about it.

4) Dating a minor
Also let’s not overlook the fact that he’s an adult who dates a minor. Don’t give me that shit about being in the body of a 14 year old makes it okay. It is not okay for the same reason 300 year old loli vampires are fine to have sex with. He’s a pedo.

5) Worst character
For all these reasons he ends up being the worst character in the show, which is not a good thing when he’s supposed to be the main character. There are those who claim he’s not the protagonist since the gang members like Mikey are doing all the work and are very cool to watch. It still doesn’t change the fact that we are watching the show from the perspective of the worst character. Why isn’t Mikey the protagonist? And why isn’t Takemichi doing something for not being such a waste of time? The presentation is all wrong.

6) Looks versus age
And that is not limited to who the main character is. Nobody looks or acts like how they are supposed to. The school kids are supposed to be 14 years old children, and yet look and act like 30 year old professional mobsters. Takemichi is supposed to be a man in his 20s and acts like a baby. It’s very off putting.

7) Dumb setting
Then it’s the setting which doesn’t do much for allowing you to take the show a bit more seriously. We hardly see any parents or teachers or the police doing anything to stop a bunch of 14 year old boys. It’s as if children are free to do anything they like and there are no adults that can do anything about it. It comes off as a juvenile power fantasy and ruins the gravity of the drama it tries so hard to make you care about.

8) Overblown drama
Setting aside, the drama in general is stupid. It uses all the typical clichés you expect to find in low tier shonen. Talk no jutsu, the power of friendship, using willpower to stand up after being beaten up, convenient last moment saves, and forgetting to call an ambulance when one of your friends is dying right in front of you. It just makes you facepalm all the time.

(Video) Youtube pe Free hai, Ekdum Time pass anime: Tokyo Revengers

9) Dumb time travel
Not even the time travel mechanics make any sense. Not that they ever do, but in this case they don’t even try to explain why does it work that way or why there is no butterfly effect for every change in the past. It’s only used for revealing information in the present after something happened in the past, which comes off as if everyone knows about it and talks about it in the present only when the plot demands for it and not because they had to do something for a whole decade. Are you really telling me these people are waiting a decade for a specific day to come so they can reveal something that they knew about for years?

10) Mediocre
And if most of what I said can be labeled as nitpicking, remember that we are now in the post Demon Slayer era. Since most people only care about pretty colors and are willing to forgive all the plot holes and the bad writing as long as the fights are cool, Demon Slayer raised the bar so much for those people to the point it’s no longer easy to turn a blind eye. Anything that is not as good as Demon Slayer can no longer be forgiven for its mishaps, and since nothing is so well animated then there are no excuses for any show anymore. Tokyo Revengers has average production values and nothing about its plot or characters is that good compared to other shows. There are better anime with school delinquents, or gangsters, or time travel, or pretty colors. It’s just a mediocrity that was blown out of proportion by dumb seasonal hype when by itself it has nothing exceptional about it.

And that is the worst thing that can happen to any series as it is airing. Being mediocre and yet presented as a masterpiece. Most people will obviously dislike it since it’s not as good as the hype made it up to be. Which is why a month after it began airing the internet was filled with people asking why is this mediocrity considered to be a masterpiece by so many sellouts who only care about hyping seasonal trash for clout. Well, the answer is in the question, isn’t it? Tokyo Revengers was never good and anyone with critical thinking like me would know that right away.

Follow2351this review isFunny (30)Helpful (59)

Tokyo Revengers Anime Reviews | Anime-Planet (3)

WinTheWarOnPantsJul 30, 2021

I don't like writing reviews but I felt compelled to offer an alternative perspective to the glowing reviews and ratings that this show is getting. This review is based on the first 4 episodes and no... i don't need to watch more of the show to critique it. I will avoid spoilers as much as possible and adress the issues in a very general manner.

The writing of this show is not very well thought out. Firstly Tokyo revengers time travel done very poorly. The logic breaks down almost imediately and you can't make sense of how actions in the past will affect the future.

MINOR SPOILERS FOR TIME TRAVEL ASPECT OF THE SHOW(skip to dotted line to avoid)

The time travel is very similar to the time travel used in Steins;Gate where the characters conciousness travels to their past self. The problem arises when the MC is aslo allowed to return to the future by shaking hands with another character(i'm sure this will be used in some silly way later to keep the MC from going backwards or forwards in time). This is a blatant paradox that is impossble for someone like me to ignore. It gets worse when a character in the future starts helping the MC and is able to retain their knowledge of alternate time lines when the MC changes the past. I could list many more reasons why this shows time travel is so stupid(and I"m certain it gets worse) but that's the gist of it.

(Video) A Hood Review Of Tokyo Revengers

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Second, the dumb story. The MCs main goal is to change the past and save his ex girlfriend. Initially this is a very awkward motivation but becomes a little more endearing as the show progressses. The method they come up with to save her is essencially to stop the bad guys who killed her from becoming bad... ok... sure. This isn't a huge issue in and of itself but it's so awkward how the show sticks to this as being the "only real way to save her". At one point the MC asks why he can't just save the girl directly(cause OBVIOUSLY!) and he is told "not to take the easy way out?"... THE WHAT!? and this piece of diologe is even dumber when you know the context of who says this line. This exchange is the author straight up admiting that his story is stupid and that he is gonna use this convoluted story thread anyway...

Third, the dumb plot. You would think that based on the premise of needing to change the life trajectories of multiple people in the past who the MC has never met would be difficult? nope.... The exact characters that the MC needs to deal with fall into his life IMEDIATELY and become friends with him for no decernable reason other than the author being too lazy to write beleivable plot threads. Rather than feeling like a real world with real characters it is instead structured like a video game where there is a specific "trigger" that the MC must find and deal with to save the future.

If these things bother you then I highly recomend skipping Tokyo revengers and not wasting your time. If you can overlook these issues and "turn your brain off" and/or your brain was never "on" to begin with then ignore this reivew and enjoy!

TL;DR- The show is more poorly written than this review.

Follow314this review isFunny (9)Helpful (23)

Tokyo Revengers Anime Reviews | Anime-Planet (4)

Ryuga10May 25, 2021

[EDITED]

Man , i cannot believe I was hesitating to watch this anime, This anime used to get reccomeded to me on YT but in most of the thumbnails the MC was mostly crying so I thought it would be a anime about a wimpy and bullied MC like MIDORIYA from MHA . I am a big fan of these time travel anime like ERASED,STEINS GATE and RE ZERO where the mc goes back in time to save his loved one. Th is anime is one of the few ones to accomodate GANGS properly in the series with many failing before. The last anime to potray GANGS in a proper manner for me was GTO. This was so great that i could now wait any longer for the new episodes that i started reading the manga. Its character development and story pacing is great. There are some plotholes like the MC parents are never seen.not even in hospital and who allows their children to rum amok in the city and what the hell is the police force doing

(Video) TOKYO REVENGERS PUDO TENER UN FINAL PERFECTO

Final ratings a solid 9/10

OK ik the valhalla arc was pretty dissapointing with it being too long drawn and the death being avoidable plus the series has droped in quality in recent epsodes

so i will reduce it from 9 to 7.5 as i have read the manga and hope the anime rebounds

7/10 story

9/10 animation

9/10 sound

7/10 characters

7.5/10 overall

Follow117this review isFunny (9)Helpful (21)

I watched the first episode when it first aired, thinking the concept sounded interesting. However, it didn't manage to hook me in, and I was slightly disappointed with how it was set up. I had dropped it there, but after seeing it everywhere, I decided to pick it up again and give it a second chance. This time, I made it to episode seventeen before I dropped it again. People say the storyline is unique when it's literally just the butterfly effect and has been done quite often, though not so much these days. If anything, it's more common to see in video games, but I wouldn't call it unique. Anyway, I tried really hard to like it the second time, however, there hasn't been anything in particular that makes me enjoy it. The show often uses the pronoun game ie: "Watch out forhim," or "It's all because ofhim,". Which, in my opinion, is a cheap cop-out for suspense and mystery. And the characters...there really isn't anyone I like. None of them are relatable and are quite bland. The only one I can actually say I semi-like is Mikey, and that's only for the badass factor more so than his character. Takemichi constantly bounces between being a coward and being brave, which is understandable at the beginning, but the further in the story goes, the more I would like to see some growth for him. Every time I thought he was growing, he would jump straight back to being the crybaby they describe him as, despite worse scenarios he had already been in. I can not root for him as the main character without being utterly frustrated. Don't even get me started on the relationship between him and Hina. The bit of romance this shows tries to incorporate feels out of place and like it was added as an afterthought; simply to be a driving force for Takemichi. And while his feelings for her were what helped him strive to correct the past could have been interesting, if they had done it a little better.

Now, I get that this is an anime, and it isn't supposed to be realistic but as an adult with a full-time job and bills, seeing how intense they are trying to make this show, comes off as cheesy. No one that I know really even talks to people they were friends with in high school let alone middle. So the fact that Takemich and Hina had been broken up for twelve years, and neither of them had moved on after only a brief relationship when they were still going through puberty, is baffling to me. The fact that there are so many middle schoolers running around literally attempting murder is weird. Where are any of their parents? Not all of them can have terrible home lives that drive them to such a rebellious state. There are practically no adults, and these kids are just running around and even driving motorcycles. It breaks my emersion. I feel like it could have been better if it was set with the characters aged up.

All in all, I feel this show is overhyped and I probably won't be giving it a third chance.

3/10 story

5/10 animation

6/10 sound

4/10 characters

4.5/10 overall

(Video) Tóm Tắt Tokyo Revengers Tập 1-24 | Review Phim Anime Tokyo Revengers | Saitama Review

Follow16this review isFunny (3)Helpful (14)

Tokyo Revengers Anime Reviews | Anime-Planet (6)

Weaboo38Jun 7, 2021

I can't belive that I told myself this is just another anime with the MC crying all the time. THIS IS SO MUCH MORE! I came to this anime looking for 'a bit of delinquintness' AND I FOUND A MASTERPIECE!! OMFG YES.

10/10 story

9/10 animation

9/10 sound

9/10 characters

10/10 overall

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • ...
  • 13
  • 14

FAQs

Is there any anime similar to Tokyo Revengers? ›

Erased has a plot very similar to Tokyo Revengers. The main character, Satoru, goes home one day to discover his mom had been murdered. This transports him back in time for some reason when he was a child. Satoru has to solve some mysteries in his past in order to prevent his mother's murder from taking place.

Is the anime Tokyo Revengers good? ›

So as a summary of the review, Tokyo Revengers anime is worth your time because it is simply so much fun, great production and very good music, events that make you feel excited, thrilled and shocked in every episode, but because of the writing and some gaps at the end of the season events I think it deserves 8.5/10.

Is anime planet any good? ›

Anime-planet has a consumer rating of 4.6 stars from 5 reviews indicating that most customers are generally satisfied with their purchases. Anime-planet ranks 13th among Anime sites.

Will there be a season 2 of Tokyo Revengers anime? ›

Tokyo Revengers Season 2, which will be released in January 2023, will also probably feature around 24 episodes, and will most likely be covering the Black Dragon arc and Tenjiku arc.

Is Erased better than Tokyo Revengers? ›

“Erased” has better characters , better character designs , better story , more serious story and time travel …… And most important thing is , the main protagonist is not a stupid , idiot like Takemichi ….. And the character designs of Tokyo Revengers look so ugly ……

Who is the strongest anime in Tokyo Revengers? ›

1) Mikey (Sano Manjirō)

The "Invincible" Mikey, is a well-deserved nickname for the strongest character in Tokyo Revengers. He is the leader of Toman in the past, and the leader of the Kanto Manji gang in the future. No matter how strong or large the opponent, Mikey has never lost a fight.

Is Tokyo Revengers R rated? ›

Tokyo Revengers (PG13 : Some Violence & Nudity) Some Violence & Nudity.

Is Tokyo Revengers good or overrated? ›

Yes, Tokyo Revengers is a really, really good anime/manga and its still streaming. I really enjoy the characters personality and character design and the plot isn't bad a bit. One thing that I don't understand is Takemichi's ex died and he wasn't fazed and didn't care at all. What type of anime is Tokyo ghoul?

Why Tokyo Revengers is famous? ›

First, it's more realistic than fantasy ones likes Jujutsu or My Hero. Second, delinquent animes are rare right now so it's really nostalgic and refreshing. Third, all the character designs are badass. The characters make people simp for them, both boys and girls.

Does Anime-Planet cost money? ›

Anime Planet is a free site for streaming anime. Anyone can watch the popular anime, movies, read manga and one shots. You can stream over 40,000 episodes of anime, can choose from tens of thousands of manga. It is a great site for information about anime and checking up on your favourite anime.

Is Anime-Planet a legal site? ›

Anime-Planet provides over 45,000 episodes to watch on its site. Before streaming anything, it lets you know that it is fully legal due to its support by the industry.

How old is Mikey Tokyo Revengers? ›

Tokyo Revengers Statistics Chart
CharacterAgeBirthday
Manjiro Sano (Mikey)15 (Past) 27 (Present)August 20, 1990
Ken Ryuguji (Draken)15 (Past) 27 (Present)May 10, 1990
Keisuke Baji14 (Past)November 3, 1990
Takashi Mitsuya15 (Past) 27-28 (Present)June 12, 1990
18 more rows
17 Nov 2021

Will Takemichi become strong? ›

Unlike many shonen anime protagonists, Tokyo Revengers' Takemichi Hanagaki doesn't grow more powerful over time. His true strength lies elsewhere.

Is Tokyo Revengers ending? ›

The series will be ending in five chapters, provided there are no breaks the series will end on November 16, 2022. Kodansha has collected its chapters into individual tankōbon volumes. The first volume was published on May 17, 2017. As of August 17, 2022, twenty-nine volumes have been released.

Who is the most liked character in Tokyo Revengers? ›

10 Most Popular Tokyo Revengers Characters, According To MyAnimeList
  • 6/10 Takashi Mitsuya Earned 1,693 Favorites.
  • 5/10 Takemichi Hanagaki Earned 1,984 Favorites.
  • 4/10 Keisuke Baji Earned 2,952 Favorites.
  • 3/10 Draken Earned 4,629 Favorites.
  • 2/10 Chifuyu Matsuno Earned 5,148 Favorites.
  • 1/10 Mikey Earned 9,316 Favorites.
24 Apr 2022

Which is better Tokyo Revengers or JJK? ›

Tokyo Revengers is an ongoing anime written & illustrated by Ken Wakui and produced by Liden Films. The show kicked off in April 2021 and in no time Tokyo Revengers has surpassed the best anime of the year, Jujutsu Kaisen.

Who can defeat Mikey? ›

The only people I can say could give Mikey a challenge are izana and terano South. Seeing as Mikey has fought both of these people, and they actually managed to match his strength for a while, they are the only two.

Who is the strongest girl in Tokyo Revengers? ›

Kawaragi Senju

But, what's interesting is that Senju is the only female character in this list and the entire Tokyo Revengers fandom who is considered to be the toughest & strongest character in Tokyo Revengers. She possesses great mobility and athleticism which makes her superior to others.

Who killed Draken? ›

However, as Tokyo Revengers, Draken did die after losing too much blood from the gunshot wound he acquired from the Rokuhara Tandai. Takemichi was on a date with Senju when Draken heard a rumor that there was a hit placed on Takemichi's life, and where it would take place.

What anime is Tokyo Revengers inspired by? ›

Tokyo Revengers manga series is inspired by Re: Zero and Erased! In an interview, author Wakui's manga editor confirmed that they took inspiration from other popular works.

What anime genre is Tokyo Revengers? ›

Action Science fiction thriller Yankī

What should I watch after finishing Tokyo Revengers? ›

Erased is a suspense thriller anime and most importantly an anime solely based upon time travel, same as Tokyo Revengers. Having some unexpected twists and turns in each episode makes it a perfect choice for Tokyo Revengers fans.

Do delinquents still exist in Japan? ›

But much like youth gangs everywhere, the groups themselves tend to be extremely close-knit, and often turn into lifelong friendships. Very few stay delinquent past Japan's legal age of 20, but some of them never drop the look or the swagger.

Was Tokyo Manji real? ›

Tokyo Manji gang was inspired from one of the biggest gangs of its time, Black Emperor. A post on Reddit suggests that the author was also part of the Black Emperor gang. A photo can be seen below: Tokyo Revengers is a manga series written by Ken Wakui.

Why did Mikey shoot Takemichi? ›

Mikey never intended to kill Takemichi. He shot him to push Takemichi away for his own good and when this didn't work, he intended to sacrifice himself. But Takemichi became the one person in Mikey's life that refused to leave him or let go of his hand.

Is Tokyo Revengers R rated? ›

Tokyo Revengers (PG13 : Some Violence & Nudity) Some Violence & Nudity.

How strong is Takemichi? ›

Takemichi is nowhere near the strongest fighter, but he is noted to be one of the, if not the most, resilient fighter thus far. He has been shown to take blows that would have knocked cold anyone else and still stand up and even retaliate.

Is Tokyo Revengers a sad anime? ›

Tokyo Revengers is known for its heart-wrenching moments as Takemichi traverses time to save his childhood friends. These are the saddest episodes. Tokyo Revengers is one of the most popular anime Crunchyroll streamed in April 2021 and has enjoyed tremendous success ever since.

Is EP 24 the end of Tokyo Revengers? ›

Season 1 of Tokyo Revengers concluded after giving us a total of 24 episodes. As expected, the final episode finished on a massive cliffhanger.

What is the final fight in Tokyo Revengers? ›

Tokyo Revengers chapter 266: End of the flashback, the final battle between Mikey and Takemichi begins. Tokyo Revengers chapter 266 marks the end of Mikey's 4-chapters-long flashback sequence and the beginning of what is likely to be the final bout of Takemichi's fight with Mikey.

Where can I watch Tokyo Revengers season 2? ›

Watch Tokyo Revengers | Netflix.

Is Tokyo Revengers good or overrated? ›

Yes, Tokyo Revengers is a really, really good anime/manga and its still streaming. I really enjoy the characters personality and character design and the plot isn't bad a bit. One thing that I don't understand is Takemichi's ex died and he wasn't fazed and didn't care at all. What type of anime is Tokyo ghoul?

How violent is Tokyo Revengers? ›

Violence & Gore (7)

The show is filled with bloody faces, broken noses and fist fights. A character gets stabbed in the hand.

Is Tokyo Revengers better than Tokyo ghoul? ›

Tokyo revengers has the better anime but the manga is very overly talked about. the Tokyo Ghoul anime is terrible but the manga is very good.

Videos

1. Tokyo Revengers Episode 1 English Dubbed
(NN)
2. [Official Databook] Tokyo Revengers Height Comparison | Perbandingan Tinggi Tokyo Revengers
(OTAKU REVIEWS)
3. Tokyo Revengers: Ang Anime na Mag-Hahari sa 2021 (Tagalog Review)
(Tito Cholo Reviews)
4. Tokyo Revengers - When Side Characters Steal the Show - Spoiler Free Anime Review 297
(BobSamurai Anime Reviews)
5. Bakit Ito Ang PINAKA IMPORTANTENG TAO Sa Tokyo Revengers (SPOILERS!!)
(Tito Cholo Reviews)
6. Tokyo Revengers Chapter-275 Season 3 Explained in Nepali | Tokyo Revengers
(Movie Explainer Nepali)
Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Arline Emard IV

Last Updated: 11/02/2022

Views: 6628

Rating: 4.1 / 5 (52 voted)

Reviews: 83% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Arline Emard IV

Birthday: 1996-07-10

Address: 8912 Hintz Shore, West Louie, AZ 69363-0747

Phone: +13454700762376

Job: Administration Technician

Hobby: Paintball, Horseback riding, Cycling, Running, Macrame, Playing musical instruments, Soapmaking

Introduction: My name is Arline Emard IV, I am a cheerful, gorgeous, colorful, joyous, excited, super, inquisitive person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.